Everest Untold

The untold story all New Zealander’s should know

Everest Untold

Everest Untold by Auckland playwright Gareth Davies tells the story of the 1953 expedition from the perspective of Sir John Hunt and the “other Kiwi” – Sir Ed’s good friend and climbing companion George Lowe. Between them, Hunt and Lowe were crucial in getting Ed to the top.

Everest Untold will transform your understanding of what happened in the Himalayas sixty years ago, with Theatreview describing it as “The untold story all New Zealander’s should know”.

The play is on now in Auckland and then touring nationwide. Thanks to Gareth and the team for supporting the Himalayan Trust.

Performance dates and venues

Auckland

20 May to 4 June with Auckland Live at the Herald theatre
http://www.aucklandlive.co.nz/everestuntold.aspx

Wellington

6 – 11 June at Wellington’s Circa Theatre
http://www.circa.co.nz/package/everest-untold/

National tour

University of Waikato
Friday, 1 July 7.30pm
Playhouse Theatre, Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts
Book at www.waikato.ac.nz/academywhats-on or 0800 3835200

Whitianga 
Saturday, 2 July 6.30pm for a 7pm start
Town Hall
Book: Whitianga Paper Plus

Gisborne
Wednesday 6 July 7.30pm
The Drama Kitchen, Gisborne Girls High School
Book: Stephen Jones PhotoPlus

New Plymouth
Friday 8 July and Saturday 9 July 7.30pm, Sunday 10 July 3pm matinee
4th Wall Theatre, New Plymouth
Book: www.4thwalltheatre.co.nz

Christchurch
Wednesday 13 July 7.30pm, Thursday 14 July 2pm, Friday 15 July 7.30pm
Isaac Theatre Royal
Book: www.ticketek.co.nz
0800 TICKETEK

Dunedin
Sunday 16 July 7.30pm, Sunday 17 July 4pm
Fortune Theatre, Dunedin
Book: 03 477 8323
www.fortunetheatre.co.nz

Timaru
Tuesday 19 July 7.30pm
The Playhouse, Church St, Timaru
Book: Newman’s Music Works
www.nmw.co.nz

Masterton
Thursday 21 July 7pm for 7.30pm show
Aratoi Museum of Arts & History
Book: www.eventfinda.co.nz

Upper Hutt
Friday 22 July 8pm
Expressions Whirinaki Arts Centre
Book: www.expressions.org.nz
04 527 2168

Blenheim
Saturday 23 July 7pm
ASB Theatre, Marlborough
Book: www.ticketdirect.co.nz

Lincoln
Monday 25 July 8pm
The Laboratory
Book: www.eventfinda.co.nz or at the Laboratory

Ashburton
Wednesday 27 July 7.30pm
Ashburton Trust Event Centre
“Open Hat Night’

Twizel
Thursday 28 July 7.30pm
Twizel Events Centre
Book: Twizel Infiormation Centre

Invercargill
Friday 29 July 7.30pm
Repertory House, Invercargill
Book: www.eventfinda.co.nz

Alexandra
Saturday 30 July 7.30pm
The Cellar Door, Alexandra
Book: Alexandra i-Site

Hokitika
Sunday 31 July 7.30pm
Old Lodge Theatre, Hokitika
Book: Hokitika Regent Theatre